Compensated Compactness and Applications to Materials (23w5018)


(Université Paris Saclay)

Flaviana Iurlano (CNRS and Sorbonne Université)

(University of Warwick)


The Banff International Research Station will host the "Compensated Compactness and Applications to Materials" workshop in Banff from April 2 to April 7, 2023.

The workshop "Compensated Compactness and Applications to Materials" will bring together experts from the theory of compensated compactness with researchers in material science. Classical compensated compactness is a theory that allows to study the limit of solutions of some partial differential equations with strongly oscillating coefficients. A particular focus is on the very recent developments in the compensated compactness theory involving concentration effects and formation of singularities. These developments have enabled many new results, for instance in the theories of microstructure, shape optimization, dislocation theory, fracture, and plasticity, and they also hold much promise for future applications. To facilitate further breakthroughs, this workshop aims to balance theoretical and more applied talks to give the participants the opportunity to exchange the latest ideas, learn new methods, and start new collaborations.

We recognise that there are many groups who are still under-represented within academia. In organizing this workshop, we took care to couple equality, diversity and inclusion with the highest quality speakers on the topic. We believe that this will create the richest possible environment for our discussions.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).