Land Acknowledgement

BIRS in Banff is located on the campus of Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity, which in turn stands on Treaty 7 territory, the traditional lands of the Stoney Nakoda Nations of Wesley, Chiniki, and Bearspaw; three Nations of the Blackfoot Confederacy: the Pikani, Kainai and Siksika; and the Tsuut'ina First Nations.

Treaty 7 territory is also shared with the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region III.

Before the signing of Treaty 7, and prior to the establishment of provincial boundaries, this region was also used by the Ktunaxa and the Maskwacis people. We acknowledge the past, present, and future generations of these nations who help us steward this land, as well as honour and celebrate this place of creativity, collaboration, and learning.