Efficient Simulation Algorithms for Viscoelastic and Viscous non-Newtonian Fluids (Cancelled) (21w5164)


(University of Oxford)

(Memorial University of Newfoundland)

(National University of Ireland Galway)

(Charles University, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics)


The Banff International Research Station will host the "Efficient Simulation Algorithms for Viscoelastic and Viscous non-Newtonian Fluids" workshop in Banff from May 2 to 7, 2021.

The mathematical description of the behaviour of typical fluids, like water at room temperature, was one of the great scientific breakthroughs of the 19th century. Understanding and applying the equations that describe these fluid drove many developments in mathematics for the next 100 years. Later, with the advent of modern computing, new fields of mathematics emerged devoted to designing algorithms to simulate these flows. This simulation capability has revolutionised many fields of engineering: no car, aeroplane, bridge, or stent is built without it.

But, just as the limitations of classical mechanics gave way to quantum mechanics in the 20th century, we now realise that many fluids are not "typical". Glaciers do not flow in the same way as tap water, and neither does blood, or magma, or DNA. At large and small scales, new algorithms for simulating these "non-Newtonian" fluids are needed. This workshop will bring together experts from disparate fields to assess recent progress, and to plot a course to meeting the new and pressing challenges posed by the simulation of non-Newtonian flows.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).