Multiscale Modeling of Plant Growth, Pattern Formation and Actuation (Cancelled) (20w5180)


(McGill University)


The Casa Matemática Oaxaca (CMO) will host the "Multiscale Modeling of Plant Growth, Pattern Formation and Actuation" workshop in Oaxaca, from September 13 to September 18, 2020.

Plant growth and development involve the flux of molecules from one cell to another, the mechanical deformation of structures, and the exchange of signals between cells and tissues. Mathematical modeling of these complex biological processes has allowed life scientists to better understand the regulatory principles that govern plant functioning and development. However, translating ‘biology’ into mathematical algorithms is challenging. The power of a modeling approach is determined by the conceptual understanding of biological processes and their causal relationships, as well as the ability of the researcher to quantify essential input parameters.

The workshop is focused at the intersection of three areas: molecular signaling (hormonal control and exchange of signaling molecules), network modeling (mathematical representation of biological feedback mechanisms), and biomechanical concepts (physical and mechanical analysis of force driven deformation or cells and tissues). The workshop will provide a forum for mathematicians, physicists and engineers to develop, exchange and challenge novel approaches to simulate these complex biological processes in integrated manner. The long term goal is to improve our understanding of plant growth, pattern formation and motion.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).