Optimal Cooperation, Communication, and Learning in Decentralized Systems (14w5077)


(McGill University)

(University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign)

Demosthenis Teneketzis (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)

(Queen's University)


The Banff International Research Station will host the "Optimal Cooperation, Communication, and Learning in Decentralized Systems " workshop from October 12th to October 17th, 2014.

Decentralized decision-making is a unifying theme of a very diverse set
of problems and applications of current interest both to researchers and
to practitioners. These include: collective decision-making and
problem-solving via crowdsourcing and social networks; design and
implementation of economic mechanisms and control policies for smart
grids, health care, and other large-scale socioeconomic infrastructures;
parallel and distributed computing for large-scale machine learning
problems; cybersecurity; etc. It is becoming increasingly apparent that
one can distill a common set of core features shared by these
heterogeneous problem domains, and to identify a common list of core
questions that need urgent attention. By bringing together researchers
from separate communities (including stochastic control, economics,
machine learning, and information theory) that do not normally interact,
and by highlighting the common threads and methodological approaches
underlying much of the research into large-scale decentralized systems,
the proposed workshop will lead to cross-fertilization of ideas and to
mutually beneficial exchange of perspectives.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).